Introducing the 2020-21 Cohort of FOCUS Impact Fellows

Becky RasmussenNews

FOCUS St. Louis is pleased to announce the 19 individuals selected for the 2020-21 cohort of FOCUS Impact Fellows. Launched in 2016 and now entering its fifth class, the program represents FOCUS’ most advanced offering and gives leaders the opportunity to work together to address a specific issue in the St. Louis region through a rigorous racial equity and justice lens.

The focus for the 2020-21 cohort will be “St. Louis: The New Normal,” as this year our community has seen the power of acting together to face momentous challenges, including pandemics, mass protests and renewed controversy over policing. The FOCUS Impact Fellows will explore how to capture the lessons our region has learned and carry on this collaborative spirit to ensure our community works for everyone.

In addition to the knowledge gained, projects developed, and networks built, participants will gain considerable training and experience in change management, problem-solving, systems thinking, group dynamics and project management.

“The FOCUS Impact Fellows program is not just a leadership program but a leadership experience,” says Dr. Wally Siewert, Director of the FOCUS Impact Fellows program. “With our most open-ended and far-reaching topic yet, this year’s cohort will have an unprecedented opportunity to explore and reimagine the potential of the St. Louis region.”

Past cohorts of FOCUS Impact Fellows have tackled regional issues including healthcare, racial equity and workforce development.

2020-21 FOCUS Impact Fellows

Anthony Atencio
Social Media Marketing Manager
Commerce Bank

Brooke Black
Gladiator Consulting, LLC

Travis Bracht
Affton School District

Jasmine Burris
Director of School-Based Services & Community Partnerships
CareSTL Health

Deneen Busby
Director of Marketing & Communications
CareSTL Health

Theodore Floros
Evaluation Associate

Anthony Franks
Assistant United States Attorney, Re-entry Coordinator
Department of Justice, United States Attorney’s Office, Eastern District of Missouri

Joshua Goldman
Director of Community Engagement in the School of Education
Saint Louis University

Lenora Gooden
VP Product Acquisition & Government Compliance
St. Louis Area Foodbank

Kara Hanak
Chief Inspiration Officer & Founding Partner

Dee Joyner
Director of Resilient Communities / Portfolio Advisory Board
Adrian Dominican Sisters

Chris LeBeau
Values First Consulting

Karen Morrison
Manager, Advocacy, Inclusion & Outreach
Barnes-Jewish Hospital

Deborah Ogunti
Community Engagement Coordinator
Center for Women in Transition

Jacqueline Thompson
Associate Professor
University of Missouri-St. Louis

Lindsay Van Quaethem
CEO & Founder
City Block STL

Carmen White
Diversity & Inclusion Manager
Greensfelder, Hemker & Gale P.C.

Dana Williams-Reid
Business Systems Analyst 3
U.S. Bancorp Community Development Corporation

Alan Zagier
Tightline Public Affairs