Introducing the 2022-23 Class of Leadership St. Louis

Becky RasmussenNews

FOCUS St. Louis has selected 63 outstanding individuals from the private, public and nonprofit sectors for the 47th Leadership St. Louis (LSL) class. These participants join a prestigious group of more than 2,500 leaders who have graduated from the LSL program since its inception in 1976.

Leadership St. Louis is a highly respected program for experienced leaders who have demonstrated a deep commitment to improving the St. Louis region. The immersive nine-month curriculum explores issues such as economic development, racial equity, education, criminal justice, poverty, immigration and arts and culture. Leadership St. Louis is designed to challenge participants’ thinking, expose them to new ideas and perspectives, and promote discussion, reflection and action. Many graduates describe the experience as “transformational,” arming them with the tools, resources and connections to lead more effectively in their personal, professional and civic roles.

“The need for collaborative leadership has never been greater in our region,” says Yemi Akande-Bartsch, Ph.D., President & CEO of FOCUS St. Louis and Director of the Leadership St. Louis program. “We’re excited to bring together this diverse group of leaders to gain a deeper understanding of St. Louis’ civic landscape by exploring the issues, institutions and systems shaping it.”

Leadership St. Louis is part of the continuum of six leadership programs offered by FOCUS St. Louis to further its mission of educating and connecting leaders to work cooperatively for a thriving St. Louis region. Find your FOCUS program today.

2022-23 Class of Leadership St. Louis

Carlton Adams
Chief Operating Officer
Operation Food Search

Andre Alexander
Tabernacle Community Development Corporation

Lauren Angelo
Edward Jones

Brad Bakker
VP – Senior Litigation Counsel
Rabo AgriFinance

Kim Beardslee
Director of Community Affairs
Nestlé Purina PetCare Company

Nichole Belford
External Relations Senior Manager
Regional Arts Commission of St. Louis

Courtney Berg
Executive Director
Girls on the Run St. Louis

Aimee Billingsley
VP, HR Operations

Jeff Brown
Director of Development
Unity Foundation

Angie Carr
Vice President and Chief Impact Officer
Nine PBS

Jason Carter

Nishesh Chalise
Community Affairs Manager
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Jason Chretien
Associate Vice Chancellor and Chief of Staff
Washington University in St. Louis

Dr. Aedryan Cox
Director of Diversity & Inclusion
De Smet Jesuit High School

Benjamin DeClue
City Administrator
City of Glendale

Jeremy Dewey
Senior Director of Development & Finance
COCA – Center of Creative Arts

Erin Eberhard
Executive Director
Promise Community Homes

Jessica Estes
Director of Partnerships
ArchCity Defenders

Angela Fleming Brown
Chief Executive Officer
St. Louis Regional Health Commission

Kurt Frisz
Chief of Police
St. Charles County Police Department

Brandy Geers
Senior Vice President & Partner

Destini Goodwin
Chief Operating Officer
Fathers & Families Support Center

Aaron M. Harris
Executive Director
Ferguson Youth Initiative

Lauren B. Harris
Greensfelder, Hemker & Gale, P.C.

Trish Holmes
Executive Director
Independence Center

Garrett Jackson

Precious Jackson-Howlett
Director of Program Management Services
Construction Management Partners

Kim Jakovich
Senior Vice President, Talent Management
Commerce Bank

Kyle Juvers
Director of Data & Analytics
Center for Civic Research and Innovation

Lisa Kelley
Executive Director, WildCare Institute
Saint Louis Zoo

Javad Khazaeli
Khazaeli Wyrsch LLC

Kristin LaRose
Chief Nursing Officer
Ranken Jordan Pediatric Bridge Hospital

Stephen C. Lee
Vice President and Deputy General Counsel
Ameren Corporation

Brad Liebman
Principal, Director of Interiors

Michael Lourie
Director, Marketing & Communications
BJC HealthCare

Mark Lowe
Vice President, Engineering & Gas Operations

Tim Marsden
Chief Information Security Officer

Jennifer Matthew Crompton
Director of ADR and Counsel

Christy McCutcheon
Director of Development
St. Joseph Housing Initiative

Kate McKearn
Executive Director
Eye Thrive

Sarah Miller
Educator and President of Clayton NEA
School District of Clayton

Myron Minner
Manager Research – SLU GI/Hepatology & Liver Center
Saint Louis University

Vernon C. Mitchell, Jr., Ph.D.
Chief Equity and Inclusion Officer
City of St. Louis

Rory O’Sullivan
Acting County Counselor
St. Charles County Government

Eduardo Platon
President and CEO
Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Metropolitan St. Louis

Elaine Powers
Executive Director
Rebuilding Together St. Louis

Jenny Pratt
Director of Major and Planned Gifts
The Muny

Dr. Nicole Robinson
Vice President of Public Policy & Community Solutions
McCormack Baron Salazar

LaTrina Rogers, M.S. Ed
Director of Residential Life
Ranken Technical College

Marcel Scaife
Missouri Foundation for Health

Chalana M. Scales-Ferguson, Esq.
Director of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Belonging
Richard A. Chaifetz School of Business – Saint Louis University

Tanesia Simmons
The Opportunity Trust

Erin Simon
Deputy Director
National Blues Museum

Kris Simpson
City Administrator
City of Crestwood

Matt Temple
Senior Account Executive – Key Accounts, Public Sector
United HealthCare

Kimberly Turner, Esq.
Attorney, Realtor, and Social Justice Consultant
The Law Office of Kimberly Turner, LLC and The Turner Team Realtors

Andrew Viragh
Second Vice President
Viragh Family Foundation

Stefani Weeden-Smith
St. Louis Anchor Action Network

Stacy West-Bruce
Instructor in Occupational Therapy
Washington University in St. Louis

Jess Whiat
Chief Operating Officer
Villa di Maria Montessori School

Nelson Williams
ThompsonCoburn LLP

Shelly Williams
Executive Director
Access Academies

Sophie Zavaglia